Mandeville's Krewe of Eve parade rolled last night before the rain started. Believe it or not, it took all of maybe one float for the kids to figure out the game. They are now sorting all types of beads, toys, hats, and doubloons. Our family room looks like a disco! If you've never experienced Mardi Gras, it's hard to imagine how much fun it is to beg for the great throws. Jacob proved to be the best 'catch' early on. However, Zeke was the best at spotting the prizes and chasing/begging for them. He's the proud owner of some great beads, a boa, and a pink feather hat. All that Ellie had to do was smile and the Eve ladies threw the treasures her way. Yeah, she's a pretty good catch, too! They're hooked. Next week grandparents from TN are headed this way for their first parades. I'm betting they'll be hooked as well. The Budweiser Clydesdales led the way tonite, and the cool old tractors (my favorite) pulled the floats. The lamplighters working for dollars along the way made it almost feel like a south shore event. Almost. Actually, I think I hear more frogs over here. Lots of frogs.
As always, the theme from here is food. Here's what I've discovered: Melt 1 stick butter (yes, 1 stick. no apologies). Add 3 tbsp olive oil. saute 1+ cup chopped green onions, generous minced garlic, a little Worcestershire, a little lemon juice, salt and pepper. Add stuff (oysters (shucked, 1 qt.), or shrimp (a few pounds peeled), etc.) Pour over cooked linguine. Top with fresh parmesan. Heaven. Easy. By the way, I think folks do a better job with eating vegetables in Tennessee.
Spring soccer is trying to find a place amongst school and the other activities. Santa's gift this year was a cruise to Cozumel out of the Port of New Orleans during the end of Mardi Gras week (kids are out of school). The way the kids eat nowadays, I'm certain they'll lose money on us.
My new job is really twisting my brain. Love it, but I've dug deep into my thermodynamics books just to be able to converse with vendors. Believe it or not, I'm not complaining! Am I going to end up loving thermo after all these years?
Zeke has decided that after years of me advising him not to be an engineer...he wants to be an engineer. Genetics (2 generations on both sides) have an impact I guess. He's got 'the knack' and he can't help it one bit. I've always told him that anything can be fixed with either duct tape, red wine, or dark chocolate. I did reach for the wine upon his announcement.
I just got my first French Valentine from Jacob. It was a project in his French class. It looks really sweet and the words look beautifully French. The translation is 'You are my duck, my sugary-wugary henny-wenny. Don't forget, you are my cabbage. And forever, without you, I am only an earthworm.'. Should I be worried?
Friday, February 13, 2009
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)